The Bachelor and the Bobby-Soxer

February 20, 2009

Today I saw “The Bachelor and The Bobby-Soxer” on the Turner Classic Movie Channel (my favorite channel by the way). Cary Grant, Myrna Loy and Shirley Temple (YES! THE Shirley Temple) star in this adorable black and white film.
The “The Bachelor and The Bobby-Soxer” was released in 1947 and directed by Irving Reis and written by Sidney Sheldon. In fact, Sidney Sheldon won an academy award for best Writing and original screenplay.

I am a huge fan of Cary Grant, I love pretty much everything i see him in, and this movie is no exception.

Not to mention, once I realized the young woman the movie focused on was Shirley Temple, I was hooked! (Strangely enough, I recognized her from her one dimple on the right side of her face when she smiled).

Shirley Temple’s teenage character, Susan Turner, develops an infatuation for an older artist and playboy Richard Nugent (Cary). Shortly after, she sneaks into his apartment to convince him to use her as a model for a portrait and her sister, a judge who has overseen cases involving Nugent, Margaret Turner (Loy) catches them together alone and gives Richard the choice of either jail or dating her younger sister, Susan, in hopes that this will cure her infatuation.

This movie has loads of charm, wonderful acting, is had me constantly giggling and of course has that classic ‘feel good’ ending.

**Facts on movie provided by imdb.com

Leave a comment